Cobseo Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is made up of a Vice Chair (currently the Chief Executive of the Forces Employment Charity, Alistair Halliday), and 17 Cobseo member organisations, of whom eight are permanent and are represented by their Chief Executive or equivalent. The Directors are often asked to take the lead in major issues and projects that have been identified as needing a collective approach. Within its constitution, the Executive Committee is empowered to co-opt specialist knowledge or opinion to further its objectives.

As well as the Annual General Meeting (see below), the Cobseo Executive meets four times a year to identify issues and concerns that affect the Armed Forces Community and agree on a collaborative and coherent direction to deliver solutions. These meetings are an opportunity for the committee to share information about plans and developments in their own organisations and how they might affect the Service and Ex-Service communities as a whole.

Cobseo feature in a large number of policy making bodies. A few examples are as follows:

  • The Cabinet Office Covenant Reference Group that drives the cross Government approach to the Armed Forces Community.
  • MOD and Service Charities Partnership Board
  • Veterans UK Customer Advisory Group
  • MOD War Pensions and Armed Forces Compensation Scheme Central Advisory Group
  • Veterans Advice and Pensions Committees
  • Defence Recovery Steering Board
  • SSAFA Stakeholder Group
  • War Memorials Action Group


Cobseo’s Permanent Executive Members:

Cobseo’s Elected Executive Members:

Our Executive Members

By @Cobseo 55 years ago

Afghanistan support

In light of recent events in Afghanistan, please find information and support resources here