Shortlist announced for 2021 RAF Benevolent Fund Awards

The RAF Benevolent Fund has announced the shortlist of nominees for our annual awards. The winners of the eight award categories below will be revealed at a special ceremony in October. Members of the public were invited to make their nominations earlier this year via the Fund’s website and the shortlist was deliberated by a panel of judges.

The annual awards are an important opportunity for the Fund to celebrate and recognise the contributions of every one of our supporters. From those tirelessly fundraising to others delivering our services on the ground, these efforts are key to ensuring that the Fund can continue supporting the whole of the RAF Family for years to come.

Last year the awards were held virtually due to Covid-19 restrictions and included a Special Recognition award for Bomber Command veteran George Dunn who has raised thousands of pounds for the Fund as well as supporting various awareness campaigns highlighting the Fund’s work.

Air Vice-Marshal Chris Elliot, Chief Executive at the RAF Benevolent Fund, said:

“The RAF Benevolent Fund’s awards never fail to inspire me. 2020 was a year like no other and still our generous supporters stepped up to help us keep our promise to the RAF Family.

“It’s true that we simply could not carry out our life-changing work without the significant support from these dedicated groups and individuals.”

The full list of shortlisted nominees are:

Above and Beyond
Cpl Paddy Flint
Jacob Newson
John Patrick

Airplay Outstanding Contribution
Karen Forbes, RAF Lossiemouth
Melanie Turnbull. RAF Leeming
Hannah Wilson, RAF Digby

Fundraising Team of the Year
General Engineering Flight, RAF Leeming
RAF Rugby Union (Women)
RAF Skeleton Team
The Beaujolais Run
The Queen’s Colour Squadron
Virtual Atlantic Row

Outstanding Support from an Organisation
Biggin Hill Heritage Hangar
The April Fools’ Club
The Blades

RAF Station of the Year
RAFC Cranwell
RAF Odiham
RAF Wittering

RAF Stations Challenge Cup
RAF Halton
RAF Odiham
RAF Shawbury

Volunteer of the Year
Julie Corbett
Cpl Ollie Kirk
Sqn Ldr Roger Wilson

Welfare Caseworker of the Year
Alison Bulbeck, SSAFA
John Marsland BEM, RAFA
George Prentice, RAFA

Our Executive Members

By @Cobseo 54 years ago

Afghanistan support

In light of recent events in Afghanistan, please find information and support resources here