A night to celebrate our wonderful supporters

RAF Odiham have been named the Station of the Year for the second year running at the eighth annual RAF Benevolent Fund awards.

The ceremony, held virtually on Tuesday night, was attended by hundreds of RAF personnel and supporters of the Fund in a night which celebrates the achievements of those who support the RAF’s leading welfare charity, from dedicated individuals and groups to RAF stations and corporate partners.

Air Vice-Marshal Chris Elliot, Controller of the RAF Benevolent Fund, said:

“During my first few months at the Fund I was struck by the dedication of our supporters who go to incredible lengths to ensure we are able to continue our work supporting the RAF Family. The awards are our opportunity to celebrate those who make all of this possible and thank all our supporters.

“Huge congratulations to all of the winners, especially RAF Odiham who have been crowned Station of the Year for the second year running. We truly would not be able to do what we do without every single one of our supporters whether it be raising money or awareness, helping us to reach even more members of the RAF Family.”

This year’s ceremony, supported by headline sponsor Lockheed Martin, was hosted by voice of Strictly, Alan Dedicoat. A total of nine awards were handed out including the Special Recognition Award for Bomber Command veteran and long-standing Fund supporter George Dunn. Ninety-eight-year-old George, who flew Halifax bombers during the Second World War, has been tireless in his support of the Fund, raising tens of thousands of pounds at books signings and air shows and taking part in countless media appearances to spread the word about our work.

The winners on the night were:

Above and Beyond:

Flt Lt Tom Mountney

Airplay Youth Worker of the Year:

Jess Nugent

ATC or UAS of the Year:

Bristol University Air Squadron

Fundraising Team of the Year:

Broomhall 2019

Outstanding Support from an Organisation:

The Spitfire Experience

RAF Station of the Year:

RAF Odiham

RAF Stations Challenge Cup:

RAF Spadeadam

Welfare Caseworker of the Year:

Michael Maidment


Our Executive Members

📢The government has announced The Rt Hon.The Lord Etherton PC, Kt as chair of the review examining the experience o… twitter.com/i/web/status/1…

By @Cobseo 5 days ago

Afghanistan support

In light of recent events in Afghanistan, please find information and support resources here