Shortlist announced for 2022 RAF Benevolent Fund Awards

The RAF Benevolent Fund has announced the shortlist of nominees for its annual awards, which will take place in June. Members of the public were invited to make their nominations earlier this year via the Fund’s website and the shortlist was deliberated by a panel of judges.

The Fund’s annual awards ceremony is an important opportunity for the charity to acknowledge, celebrate and thank all of its supporters. From personnel, veterans and civilians tirelessly fundraising, to those delivering our welfare services on the ground, these efforts are key to ensuring that the Fund can continue supporting the whole of the RAF Family for years to come.

Air Vice-Marshal Chris Elliot, Chief Executive at the RAF Benevolent Fund, said:

“The Fund’s annual awards ceremony is an important event in our calendar, allowing us to come together with our supporters and celebrate their efforts and commitment to our cause.

“We would be unable to carry out our life-changing work without the significant support from these dedicated groups and individuals, so I’d like to extend my thanks and congratulations to every one of this year’s nominees.”

The 2022 awards recognise fundraising and welfare work that took place during 2021. The full list of shortlisted nominees is below.

Above and Beyond

  • Wing Commander Mike Ainsworth
  • Julie Corbett
  • Archie Hadfield

Airplay Youth Worker of the Year

  • Ayleila Parry – RAF Brize Norton
  • Sharon Pollard – RAF Wittering
  • Ian Savage – RAF Marham

Air Training Corps Squadron of the Year

  • 2204 (Chesham & Amersham)
  • 282 (East Ham)
  • 2071 (Stamford)

Fundraising Team of the Year

  • Scottish Torque Show Team 2021
  • The April Fools’ Club
  • 617 Lossie Dambusters Crew

Outstanding Support from an Organisation

  • CCM Motorcycles
  • Thales Charitable Trust
  • Wimbledon Foundation

RAF Station of the Year

  • Leuchars Station
  • RAF Coningsby
  • RAF Valley

RAF Stations Challenge Cup

  • Leuchars Station
  • RAF Spadeadam
  • RAF Valley

Welfare Caseworker of the Year

  • Pip Iles – Honorary Welfare Officer, RAFA Basingstoke
  • Ron Simpson – Honorary Welfare Officer, RAFA Norwich
  • Roger Woodward – SSAFA East Dorset

If you have any queries, please contact Ellen Brooks, Special Events Manager, on 020 7307 3321 or

Our Executive Members

By @Cobseo 54 years ago

Afghanistan support

In light of recent events in Afghanistan, please find information and support resources here